DGP chairs Task Force meeting on Border Management

Jammu: Director General of Police (DGP) Dilbag Singh chaired a meeting of the Border Management Task Force, which was attended by various senior officers of Army, BSF, Police and Civil Administration, to review the management of the International Border.

Agenda of the meeting covered various issues on Border Management like better interagency coordination, problems being faced by civilians residing in these areas and identification of gaps in the implementation of decisions taken in previous meetings.

At the outset, DGP J&K outlined the objectives of the Task Force constituted with the aim of enhancing the coordination and synergy amongst various stakeholders, especially in context of the present and emerging challenges and the way forward.

Addressing the meeting, the DGP stressed on the importance of smooth sharing of information. He further emphasized on the use of technology for better surveillance as well as for strengthening of the anti-infiltration grid.

Referring to the recommendations of the DGP/IGP conference, the DGP reiterated the earlier instructions on the conduct of detailed household survey of the border areas. He also underlined the importance of Civic Action Programmes and other community engagement activities in these areas. Vulnerability Mapping, keeping previous militant incidents in mind, was another important point flagged by the DGP.

Top officers representing different security forces and Civil Administration also suggested different measures for effective Border Management. IGP Headquarters PHQ B. S Tuti conducted the proceedings of the meeting.

The meeting was attended by ADGP Jammu Zone, Mukesh Singh, ADGP (Coord) PHQ, Danesh Rana, Divisional Commissioner, Jammu, Ramesh Kumar, GOC 28 Infantry Division 15 Corps, Maj. Gen. Girish Kalia, VSM, 26 Infantry Division, 9 Corps, Maj Gen Gaurav Gautam, IGP Nitish Kumar, IGP Headquarters B. S. Tuti, DIG (Ops) BSF Jammu Frontier, Vikrant Nayar, BGS 16 Corps, Brig Kartik C Seshdri, DC Jammu, Avny Lavasa, DC Kathua, Rahul Panday, DC Samba, Anuradha Gupta, SSP Jammu, Chandan Kohli, SSP Samba, Benam Tosh, SSP Kathua, Shiv Deep Singh Jamwal, AIG Training and Policy PHQ J S Johar, Col. (GS) S. Vanhishtha, Chief Engineer, PW(R&B) Jammu, Chief Engineer Irrigation & FC Jammu, Vijay Kumar Pandita, Chief Engineer, JPDCL (Distribution) Jammu and DySP IT PHQ Junaid Hakeem.

Related Articles