ECI de-registers 6 J&K political parties

By: Ibni Maqbool

Srinagar: The Election Commission of India has de-registered six political parties of Jammu & Kashmir after they were found to be non-existent.

According to an order, a copy of which is in possession of The Precious Kashmir, the poll-body has de-registered six registered unrecognized political parties of J&K after they were found to be non- existent.

In total, 87 political parties have been de-registered by ECI in States and UTs in the second phase of the ongoing exercise to cancel registration of political parties who have failed  to ensure due regulatory compliances.

In the first phase, 111 political parties were deregistered by the poll-body.

They have been deregistered after CEOs reported that they have been found to be non-existent on verification or the letters issued by them have returned undelivered by the postal department.

The parties de-registered include Jammu & Kashmir Awami League, Jammu and Kashmir Democratic Party Nationalist, All J&K Peoples Patriotic Front, Democratic Janta Dal(J&K), J&K Citizens Party and Jammu and Kashmir National United Front.

J&K Awami League was founded by Mohammad Yusuf Parray (alias Kuka Parray) in 1995. It held its first election meeting on April 29, 1996. It managed to send one MLA each to J&K Assembly polls in 1996 and 2002 state polls but it became dormant later.

The Democratic Party Nationalist was formed by former minister Ghulam Hassan Mir after he quit Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Related Articles