DEO Sgr conducts inspection of strong rooms, distribution collection centres

Takes onsite stock of election preparedness, facilities

SRINAGAR, MARCH 20: The District Election Officer (DEO) Srinagar, Dr. Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat on Wednesday conducted comprehensive inspection of proposed election Strong Rooms cum Collection/ Distribution Centres being established for all 08 Assembly constituencies of Srinagar District.

The inspection was undertaken to assess the preparedness for smooth conduct of the upcoming Lok Sabha Election-2024 in the District.

During the visit, the DEO/DC took onsite review of the arrangements and facilities at Strong Room cum Collection/ Distribution Centres for all 08 Assembly Constituencies viz 19-Hazratbal, 20-Khanyar, 21-Habbakadal, 22-LalChowk, 23-Chanapora, 24-Zadibal, 25-Eidgah and 26-Central Shalteng.

During the inspection, the DEO stressed upon the concerned Assistant Returning Officers (AROs) to take up necessary measures to ensure that all required arrangements are put in place well in advance to facilitate smooth and efficient election process.

He asked them to make proper arrangements for polling staff, adequate parking and separate entry/exit of the vehicles carrying election material at Strong Rooms cum Collection/Distribution Centres.

He also laid emphasis on placing adequate spaces for counters to be placed at Collection/Distribution Centres in order to avoid any cluttering during distribution/collection of election materials.

While interacting with the AROs and other concerned staff, the DEO/DC underscored the importance of ensuring that all Strong Rooms cum Collection/Distribution Centres adhere to prescribed standards of Election Commission of India to uphold the integrity and fairness of the electoral process.

He stressed on proper handling/ management of election material besides ensuring efficient and secure mechanisms for its storage.

Additional Deputy Commissioner (ARO/ERO- Zadibal), Dr Khalid Hussain Malik, Additional Deputy Commissioner (ARO/ERO- Hazratbal), Syed Ahmad Kataria, Deputy District Election Officer, Mir Imtiyaz Ul Aziz, Other AROs, and other concerned officers accompanied the DEO during the visit.


Related Articles