Govt forms panel for EV policy in J&K

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir Government on Thursday constituted a committee for formulation of comprehensive Electric Vehicle Policy in the Union Territory.

According to an order, the committee will be headed by Administrative Secretary, Housing and Urban Development Department.

As per the order Administrative Secretary, Transport Department will be its member Secretary while Administrative Secretary, Industries and Commerce Department, Administrative Secretary, Power Development Department, Secretary, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Department, Director General, Budget and any other member as may be co-opted will be the members of the committee.

The order reads that the committee will evaluate and suggest measures to promote electric mobility ecosystem in Jammu and Kashmir in general and in the twin cities of Jammu and Srinagar in particular.

It reads that it will also analyze scope of incentives as may be granted for ownership of electric vehicles, including conversion of existing commercial fleets into electric setup.

“It will suggest broad contours of the infrastructural requirements for shifting to electric mobility, comparing similar policies/rules of neighboring states, analyze aspects related to road safety associated with the usage of electric vehicles,” the order said.

It added that the committee will also suggest measures to promote research and innovation as well as skill development in the field of electric vehicles and any other aspect, as may be deliberated by the committee.

“The committee shall furnish its report within a period of one month and shall be serviced by the Transport Department,” it reads. (KNO)

Related Articles