One-week training programme on earthquake risk mitigation begins at KU

Srinagar: A week-long training programme on ‘Earthquake Risk Mitigation and Management’ started at the University of Kashmir on Monday.

Vice-Chancellor Prof Nilofer Khan chaired the inaugural session of the workshop, organised jointly by the Department of Geography and Disaster Management, University of Kashmir and National Institute of Disaster Management (NIDM).

In her presidential address, Prof Nilofer said academic institutions have a larger responsibility to help develop a disaster-conscious and disaster-resilient society by undertaking collaborative endeavours like the present workshop.

Stressing on creating grassroots awareness on disasters, Prof Nilofer said more varsity departments could be roped in for such collaborative programmes in future to address concerns of the public related to disasters, from the disciplines like social science, law, humanities, home science and others.

Dr Amir Ali Khan from NIDM spelt out the objectives of the week-long activity, including communicating to the participants from academia and different government departments the need to “face the emerging challenges vis-à-vis earthquake mitigation and management.”

He underlined the importance of seismic microzonation of vulnerable areas to incorporate the same in the respective master plans so that areas with loose soil are avoided for any type of developmental activity.

Prof Vineet K Gehlaut from NGRI also shared the dais and his views on the workshop theme, while KU Registrar Dr Nisar A Mir also joined the inaugural session deliberations.

Head Department of Geography Prof Pervez Ahmad said a mixed group of participants has been chosen for the current workshop in view of the “specific need” to acquaint them with new challenges in areas of earthquake mitigation and management. He said these include teachers from colleges, government functionaries, research scholars and students.

Dr Javeed A Rather conducted proceedings of the inaugural session, while Dr Mohammad Shafi Bhat delivered the vote of thanks.

Related Articles