Delimitation Commission shares its second report with J&K MPs

By: Nasir Azam

Srinagar: The Delimitation Commission constituted by the Government of India to redraw J&K’s electoral map on Friday evening shared its second report with five members of parliament (MPs) from the Union Territory.

Sources told KNO that the report defining boundaries of 90 assembly segments of Jammu & Kashmir, was shared with MPs at 7: 00 pm today. “The report has been sent to all MPs from J&K,” they said, adding that entire process of delimitation is likely to be completed in next one month.

According to sources, the delimitation commission has also asked MPs to submit their objections, if any, over the report. “After they will file objections, the commission will seek objections and suggestions from the general public and hold sittings at different places to consider these suggestions, “they said.

On December 20, the panel shared district—wise seat allocation with MPs from Jammu and Kashmir.

In its report, the panel proposed six new seats for Jammu division and one in Kashmir division—(KNO)

Related Articles