Flights from EU, Turkey & UK banned

Flights from EU, Turkey & UK banned

New Delhi: The Indian Government on Monday prohibited travel of passengers from member countries of the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey and United Kingdom to India with effect from March 18 in a move to contain the spread of novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).

According to a new travel advisory released on Coronavirus outbreak, compulsory quarantine has been expanded for a minimum of 14 days for passengers coming from/transiting through UAE, Qatar, Oman, and Kuwait effective from 0530 IST on March 18 at the port of first departure.

Both these instructions were temporary measures and shall be in force till March 31 and reviewed subsequently, the advisory said.

No airline shall board a passenger from these nations to India with effect from 0530 hrs IST on March 18. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure.

The action followed after four new cases tested positive for COVID19 – one each from Odisha, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh and Kerala since the last update. There are now a total of 114 confirmed cases in India as of today, including 10 discharged, three cured and two reported deaths.

The Union Government advised states to keep all schools, colleges, universities and gyms closed till March 31.