‘JK in dire need of political solution’

‘JK in dire need of political solution’
  • 1

Srinagar, Sep 5: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) President Mehboba Mufti on Wednesday termed the safeguard of state’s special position as party’s top most priority, stating that PDP while being part of the government in the state didn’t compromise on its core ideology.
“Every person in the state of Jammu and Kashmir is aware of the fact that the PDP since its very inception has been pitching for dialogue and reconciliation for the resolution of Kashmir and stood in the forefront for protecting Article 370 from any assault,” Mehbooba said while addressing people at Poonch.
She further reiterated that ahead of forming the coalition government with the BJP after 2014 polls, PDP signed the agenda of alliance in which it took it in writing from the BJP that Article 370 and state’s unique position will not be fiddled with and dialogue with all stakeholders including the Hurriyat shall be initiated by the Government of India. “Even when PDP was the part of the government, it didn’t allow any tinkering with the state’s special status and engaged country’s top lawyers to defend 35-A at the Supreme Court,” PDP chief said.
She added that it is a fact known to all that PDP is the only party in state’s political spectrum that never adopted dual policy while being in the government or when out of the power. “Everyone is free to observe that the stand party had while being part of the coalition was same as it is today. We will always pitch for dialogue and reconciliation and want India and Pakistan to come on table to resolve Kashmir,” Mehbooba said, adding the stage is in dire need of a political solution.
She further asked the people present on the occasion to strengthen the PDP further as the party shall always remain in the frontline for tranquil and peaceful Jammu and Kashmir and wouldn’t shy away from rendering any sacrifice for the purpose.
Meanwhile, other PDP leaders who spoke on the occasion include Shah Mohammad Tantrey, Anjum Fazili , Surinder Choudhary, Yashpal Sharma, Shamim Dar, Syed Iqbal Kazmi, Shamim Ganai, Adv Maroof Khan, Imtiyaz Hussain Bandey, Nadeem Rafiq Hussain Khan, Shahzad Khan ,Tanveer Dar, Ch. Javaid Ahmad, Murtaza Ah Khan, Deepak Handa, Mohd Rashid Qureshi, Zahida, and several others. (KNS)