NC sweeps Kashmir; BJP retains Jammu, Ladakh

Srinagar, May 23: Even as Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to stage a comeback with a vengeance in majority of Indian States, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi tipped to lead the country for second term, Jammu and Kashmir saw the massive win of National Conference on all three seats—Anantnag, Srinagar and Baramulla with huge margins leaving Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Congress and the Peoples Conference thinking. In Jammu, BJP retained the fort with Dr Jitendera Singh and Jugal Kishore. BJP also won Ladakh seat.
National Conference president and former J&K chief minister, Farooq Abdullah won the prestigious Srinagar Lok Sabha seat by a comfortable margin of 70 thousand votes. Abdullah bagged 106731 votes while his nearest rival PDP candidate managed Syed Mohsin secured a mere 36,705 votes.
The NC had lost the Srinagar seat to PDP in 2014. However, after PDP MP, Tariq Karra resigned and joined Congress, Abdullah managed to win the seat in the bye- election held in 2017.
From Baramulla Lok Sabha seat, NC candidate, Mohammad Akbar Lone secured 131869 votes while Peoples Conference candidate, Raja Ajaz Ali got 102212. Surprisingly, independent candidate and former assembly member Langate, Engineer Shiekh Rashid polled more than one lakh votes.
In Anantnag, NC’s greenhorn Justice (retd) Husnain Masoodi defeated two stalwarts – PDP president Mehbooba Mufti and J&K Pradesh Congress president Ghulam Ahmad Mir. Masoodi got 40032 votes while Mir and Mufti bagged 32879 and 30223 votes respectively.
Union Minister in PMO, Jitendra Singh sealed victory in Udhampur over Congress candidate Vikramaditya Singh after he secured 711199 votes to take a massive lead over his rival who got 365443 votes. This is second Jitendra Singh’s consecutive win from Udhampur.
In the Jammu Lok Sabha seat, BJP candidate Jugal Kishore romped home with 830861votes while his Congress rival Raman Bhalla got 546403 votes.
BJP also managed to win the lone seat in Ladakh. Its candidate Jamyang Tsering Namgyal secured 38338 votes against 29004 of independent candidate Sajjad Hussain who was supported by NC and the PDP. The Congress which contested five seats in Jammu and Kashmir couldn’t win a single seat.