DEO Pulwama finalizes poll arrangements

Pulwama May 1: District Election Office (DEO) Pulwama today finalised the preparation for Parliamentary Elections during a meeting at Government Women’s Degree College Pulwama.
The meeting was held under the supervision of General Observer for Rajpora, Pulwama Assembly Segments Sajad Zaman Hazarika and General Observer for Pampore and Tral Assembly Segments of Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency Vinit Nandawar, and Police Observer Rupin Sharma.
District Election Officer (DEO) Pulwama Dr. Syed Abid Rashid Shah was also present on the occasion.
The meeting discussed all election-related matters like deployment of polling staff, magistrates and security personnel, training of polling staff, distribution of poll material, functioning of constituted teams, transportation etc. The basic facilities kept available at the polling stations, establishment of strong rooms, regulation of traffic and parking issues, communication plan, refreshment, safety and security etc. were also discussed in the meeting.
On the occasion, General Observers exhorted upon the designated officials to stay alert so that the electors cast their votes without facing any difficulties.
Senior Superintendent of Police Pulwama, Chandan Kohli and SSP Awantipora Tahir Saleem Khan briefed the meeting regarding sensitive Polling Stations and deployment of Security Forces at Polling Stations. It was said that adequate security has been deployed across the district to conduct the Parliamentary Elections in peaceful manner.
While re-sensitizing the officers about their role and responsibility, the DEO exhorted upon them to stay in close touch with each other and ensure that all the arrangements including fool proof security arrangements are put in place well in time for free, fair and peaceful elections. He said Zonal Magistrates and Sectoral Magistrates will work in synergy with concerned department.
Additional Deputy Commissioners Pulwama ,Tral and Awantipora, Deputy Election Officer, Assistant Commissioner Revenue , Assistant Returning Officers, Zonal Magistrates, Sectoral Magistrates besides Nodal Officers ,Presiding officers ,officers of Police and Security Agencies and other concerned attended the meeting.