PDP will strongly oppose constitutional vandalism in JK: Madni

  • 1

Srinagar, Mar 31: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Sunday cautioned the government of India over fiddling with the state’s special status, reiterating that the party will not allow constitutional vandalism to take place in Jammu and Kashmir.
Addressing scores of party leaders, functionaries, supporters and activists in South Kashmir’s Kulgam area, veteran PDP leader Mohammad Sartaj Madni said that PDP is the only political force in Jammu and Kashmir which both in power as well as in opposition stood firm on its stand and didn’t compromise on its principles even at the time of tough ordeals.
Madni cautioned that there are assaults against the state’s special position being made on multiple fronts and that such underhand means will only increase frustration, disgruntlement and alienation among the people of the state especially the youth who at present are feeling alienated, dejected and left out.
Madni said that while the government of India should be working to empower the state more, it is taking away whatever is left with it. He added that the government is further pushing the people of Jammu and Kashmir into a corner while their constitutional rights are being trampled which is being guaranteed by the constitution of India.
He that the ban on Jamat-e- Islami (JeI) and JKLF would further shrink the space for political rapprochement and reconciliation and those at the helm in New Delhi are taking ostrich like approach towards Kashmir which is in crisis and no muscular policy will work as it has never worked in the past and it will never work in future also.
Madni added that banning the political and religious organisations will further shrink the space for politics and dialogue and it seems that government of India is now completely depending on force as a measure to subjugate the people of state.
Besides Madni, other PDP leaders and functionaries who spoke on the occasion include parliament member Nazir Ahmed Laway, District President Kulgam Ghulam Mohideen Sheikh, Zonal President Feroz Ahmad Shah, senior PD leader Mohammad Amin Dar and several others. (KNS)