Congress adopts resolution over Lethpora attack, defers all functions in state

  • 1

Jammu, Feb 15: A meeting of the Executive Committee of J&K Pradesh Congress Committee was held at Jammu Friday under the Chairmanship of JKPCC President G.A. Mir, attended by AICC Secretary Sudhir Sharma and other prominent leaders of the Party.
The Executive Committee adopted a resolution.
“This Executive Committee shares the grief, anguish and anger of the Nation over the heavy loss of lives and injuries to several others in the deadliest, dastardly and barbaric militant attack over a CRPF Convoy at Awantipora Pulwama Yesterday.
Strongly condemning the incident the Executive Committee expresses its grave concern over the most cowardly and biggest ever terror attack on our forces in this State causing huge loss to precious lives of our brave soldiers.
The meeting conveys its deep sympathies with the families of martyrs.
We deeply feel the pain of the families of martyrs and no amount of words can express their grief.
The entire Nation is in grave shock and anger over the barbaric incident.
The Party solidly stands in solidarity with the Nation and calls for an appropriate and effective response to avenge the killings.
We are united in our fight against militancy and to isolate the enemies of peace and harmony of our Nation.
The meeting appeals to the people to express their anger and anguish unitedly in a peaceful and non-violent manner and maintain communal harmony at all costs to defeat the nefarious designs of the enemy”.
The meeting decided to defer all scheduled functions of the Party in the State including the provincial level convention on 17th Feb for a period of one week as a mark of respect to the Martyrs.
Prominent amongst others who were present included Tara Chand, Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, Ravinder Sharma, R.S. Chibb Mohd Sharief Niaz, Balwan Singh, Usman Majeed Shabir Khan, Mohd Akram, Viqar Rasool Wani, Manmohan Singh, Suman Bhagat Rajnish Sharma, Surinder Singh Channi, Manjeet Singh, Vikram Malhotra, Indu Pawar, Hari Singh Chibb, Ch. Gharu Ram, Ashok Sharma, Ch. Shah Mohd, Dr. Manohar Lal Sharma, Raman Matto. (KNS)