Inter departmental committee constituted for IITs, IIMs

  • 1

All divisional officers from Jammu put on panel

Srinagar, Oct 1: The government in a surprising move has left out the heads of technical departments holding the ranks of chief engineers of Kashmir division and included their contemporaries of Jammu division in the inter departmental committee constituted for IITs and IIMs in Jammu and Kashmir state.
An order issued by the General Administration Department said that state level coordination committee will be headed by Administrative Secretary Higher Education Department and other members of the committee will be Administrative Secretary Technical Education Department, Chief Conservator of Forests Jammu, Chief Engineer M&RE Jammu, Chief Engineer Public Health Engineering Department Jammu, Chief Engineer Public Works (R&B) Department Jammu, Deputy Commissioner Jammu, Director IIM Jammu, Director IIT Jammu and Chief Engineer CPWD north zone Jammu. The work tasked to the committee includes coordination and resolution of inter departmental issues among the state government departments and coordination with autonomous institutions established under centrally sponsored schemes for timely redressal of issues with line departments of the Jammu and Kashmir government.
Interestingly none of the chief engineers from Kashmir either from R&B or PHE and Flood Control departments have been associated with this inter departmental committee tasked the job of fast tracking work on IITs and IIMs. (KNS)