Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, deputy Manish Sisodia, 11 AAP legislators charged for assault on top bureaucrat

  • 1

The Delhi Police on Monday charged chief minister Arvind Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia with criminal conspiracy in an alleged assault on chief secretary Anshu Prakash by Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) legislators in the presence of the two leaders on February 19.
Kejriwal and Sisodia were charged with planning the conspiracy to assault Prakash, Delhi government’s top civil servant, by calling him to the chief minister’s residence for a late night meeting.Eleven AAP MLAs were charged with assault, according to a police report filed before Samar Vishal, additional chief metropolitan magistrate. The legislators are Amanatullah Khan, Prakash Jarwal, Nitin Tyagi, Rituraj Govind, Sanjeev Jha, Ajay Dutt, Rajesh Rishi, Rajesh Gupta, Madan Lal, Parveen Kumar, and Dinesh Mohania.Sources told Hindustan Times the statements of VK Jain, Kejriwal’s former advisor, will be crucial evidence in the case. Jain has reportedly confirmed Jarwal and Khan assaulted Prakash. Jain had asked Prakash to attend the meeting and quit as Kejriwal’s advisor three weeks later.A medical report that said Prakash had swollen ears and cheeks and a bruise on his lips more than 24 hours after the assault is also part of police’s evidence,