Gear up for elections: PCC chief to party leaders

Jammu, Jul 23: A meeting of senior Congress leaders including senior functionaries of PCC, Former legislators and Frontal heads of the party reviewed the overall political scenario in the state and devised future course of action for gearing up the party activities for any future political process and democratic exercise in the state.
The meeting was presided over by PCC Chief G.A Mir while attended by Former Ministers, Former MP, Ex-Legislators and prominent leaders of Jammu province.
Mir briefed the meeting about the discussions in the congress working committee (CWC) held at Delhi under the presidentship of Rahul Gandhi.
He apprised the meeting about the important decisions and course of action decided to be taken for the future general elections to the Lok Sabha and the Assemblies, where ever due to be held shortly.
He told the leaders to gear up the cadres for the forth coming electoral exercises in the state including ULBs and Panchayats besides preparations for the Lok Sabha and assembly elections.
The participants gave their views on different aspects and issues for strengthening the party and to emerge stronger in the future elections. The meeting felt that congress has the bright chances to emerge as a largest alternative in the State in view of total disenchantment of the people with other parties especially BJP in Jammu region and PDP in the valley.
The people look towards congress as a strong alternative and it will have to work out appropriate strategies and gear up in every nook and corner to cash on the positive wave in favour of Congress party.
The meeting appealed to the party leaders and workers to rise to the occasion to take upon this opportunity and unitedly stand against the communal, divisive and opportunist forces in the state and work for strengthening the party at grass root levels.
The meeting also took stock of the organizational activities and the steps for intensification of the activities at all levels, to meet the future challenges and emerge stronger and victories in every electoral exercise.
The meeting was attended by Madan Lal Sharma, Mula Ram, Raman Bhalla, R.S. Chib, Jugal kishore, Ravinder Sharma, Th. Balbir Singh(MLC), Th. Balwan Singh, Suman Bhagat, Parkash Sharma, , Kanta Bhan, Jahangir Mir, Rajnish Sharma, Yogesh Sawhney, Th. Manmohan Singh, S. Manjit Singh, Namrata Sharma, Indu Pawar, Th. Shivdev Singh, Prof. Gharu Ram, Ch. Gahru Ram, Ashok Dogra, Y.V. Sharma, B.S. Sambyal, Neeraj Kundan, and Suresh Dogra. (KNS)