No-confidence motion: Shiv Sena withdraws whip to MPs to vote for Modi govt

As PM Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre faces no-confidence motion tomorrow, its estranged ally Shiv Sena remains noncommittal about its support. Just hours after promising support to the BJP, Shiv Sena has withdrawn a whip to its lawmakers to vote in favour of the government. The party said that it will decide its course of action by Friday morning.This morning, BJP chief Amit Shah reportedly spoke to Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray on phone, after which it decided to vote in favour of the NDA government.The no-confidence motion was moved by the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) — a former constituent in the NDA. The move is supported by the Congress, Trinamool Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Samajwadi Party, and the Communist Party of India (Marxist), or CPI(M), a bitter rival of the TMC, among others.“We had issued the whip, but it was later withdrawn. We have not decided yet…we will arrive at a decision by Friday morning,” said Sena leader and MP Chandrakant Khaire. The whip issued earlier n the day by Sena directed its Lok Sabha MPs to remain present on Friday and “support the government’s stand.”The three-line whip issued by Khaire, who is chief whip of the party, stated: “All Shiv Sena members in Lok Sabha are hereby informed that some very important Legislative business will be taken up for discussion and passing in the Lok Sabha on Thursday, the 19th July and Friday.