BJP now down to 272 Lok Sabha seats from 2014 tally of 282

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s tally has come down to 272 seats in the Lok Sabha for the first time in this tenure of Parliament.
BJP had won 282 seats in the 2014 general election, giving them a simple majority in the lower house of Parliament. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) had won 336 seats out of 543.
The sudden dip in BJP’s tally was caused after Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Saturday accepted the resignation of BS Yeddyurappa and B Sriramulu. The two had to step down after becoming Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) in the recently concluded Karnataka Assembly election.
The saffron party’s tally in the Lok Sabha however excludes the Speaker. Out of the 272 seats that BJP currently has, Kirti Azad stands suspended from the party while Member of Parliament from Patna Sahib Constituency Shatrughan Sinha is seen as a rebel. BJP’s reduced tally will force the party to rely heavily on its NDA allies to help pass crucial bills in the final year of this Lok Sabha’s tenure. However, its allies include the Shiv Sena which has been on a warring path for a while. Similarly, N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has walked out of the NDA.