Samajwadi Party opts to tie up with independents to contest Gorakhpur and Phulpur by-polls


Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party on Sunday announced that it had struck alliances with two smaller parties – the Nishad Party and the Peace Party – to and announced that Praveen Nishad of the Nishad party would contest from the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat on a Samajwadi Party ticket.
The Gorakhpur seat was vacated by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath after he assumed office last year.
Earlier, the Akhilesh Yadv-led Samajwadi Party had failed to rope in the support of the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress for the by-polls on two Lok Sabha seats, namely Gorakhpur and Phulpur. The second seat was vacated by Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya.
The Congress, which had contested 2017 Assembly elections with the Samajwadi Party, has already announced its candidates for by-polls on both Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Padesh. Surhita Chatterjee will contest from Gorakhpur while Manish Mishra has been made party nominee from Phulpur Lok Sabha seat.