Government failed in reaching out to remote areas: G H Mir


Tangmarg, Dec 10: DPN Chief and Former Agriculture Minister Ghulam Hassan Mir said that the present government has miserably failed in reaching out to the remote areas and as a result people are suffering even for the basic necessities. Mir was addressing one-day DPN workers convention of Block Chandil-Wanigan.
Mir blamed the PDP-BJP combine for trampling the spirit of three-tier democracy by weakening the grassroots level decision making institutions as per a sinister political strategy.
He said people at grassroots level have been debarred in decision-making process which unable them to oversee the implementation of development projects.
Mir said more ironically the absence these vital organs of democracy has also given rise in corruption at the lower level which as a result has added more sufferings to a common man.
Mir urged the government to handover these institutions to people without further delay.
The day-today political interference has crippled the government machinery which in turn has created huge trust deficit among masses, Mir said. Mir said, the developmental projects started during the previous government for the remote areas has coming to a grinding halt. He questioned as why the present government has stopped work midway on the developmental projects initiated for the benefit & welfare of common people. Mir demanded for early completion of hospital building, construction of receiving station at Chandil-Wanigam besides class-work of already upgraded Higher Secondary School, Wanigam.
While speaking on the electricity scenario, Mir said that the government has failed to stick on its own power-schedule which has caused unbearable hardships to the public.
Mir cautioned the Government for its high-handed policies against the youth. The Government should immediately withdraw cases against the youth who are booked in stone-pelting, Mir suggested. He urged the Government to release the political prisoners on priority.
The convention was also addressed by General Secretary Nazir Dailgami, Block President Ghulam Ahmad, Youth Leader Muzaffer Reshi, Mir Tajmul Ishfaq, Asadullah Bhat and others. (KNS)